The End of the Beginning — Part 1

child at the foot of stairs going up
Mikito Tateisi | Unsplash

When it’s the last straw, what do you do? When circumstances seem to conspire against you, what does that say about God? If our only hope is a miracle, is it realistic to expect one? John tells us about a time when Jesus raised a dead man back to life. What does that story have to teach us? Pastor Luke looks at John 11:1–44 in “The End of the Beginning – Part 1,” the first message in a new series.


Rethink God — Rethink, Part 1

Sometimes we think God has a personality disorder. The God revealed in Jesus is so forgiving and nice, but in the Old Testament, God seems harsh and judgmental. Which is the right picture? The answer requires us to rethink God. Pastor Luke preaches from John 10: 1–18 in “Rethink God,” the first message in a new series “Rethink.” Continue reading “Rethink God — Rethink, Part 1”

One More Year – Part 4 of Gardens

Nobody likes to be judged: even by our family, much less by our friends and neighbors, and especially not by God. Since God is able to enforce his judgments, it’s easy to see things that happen in our lives as God’s judgment at work. Good things mean good approves, bad, that God disapproves. Jesus says that’s a mistake, though, and offers a different way to look at God’s judgment. Pastor Luke preaches from Luke 13 in “One More Year,” part 4 of his 5-part series “Gardens.”

Eden – Part I of Gardens

Everybody’s heard about the Adam and Eve and the snake and the apple and fig leaves, even people who aren’t Christians or Jews. But it’s a kind of a downer. What does that old story about the first man and woman teach us today? Is the garden of Eden just a grim reminder of human failing, or is there some good news in it? Pastor Luke teaches from Genesis 3 in “Eden,” the first message in a new series “Gardens.”


The season of Lent is a time of repentance and reflection. We remember our need for a savior in order to better rejoice at the salvation he has won for us. Our Lenten journey begins in one garden (Eden) and ends in another (Gethsemane), and stops at other gardens along the way. (The series begins on February 17, 2013 and runs for 5 messages.)

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑